Facebook E-mail RSS



In 1989 the Iowa Firefighters Memorial Committee was formed. The original committee consisted of the following Iowa Firefighters:

Mike Reuman, ChairmanTraer Tom CampbellPanora
L.L. Bud HollarIowa Falls Marlyn LyonsVan Horne
Robert PlatzDyersville Leon AbelsWellsburg
Steve KenkelToledo Richard HarmanCedar Rapids
Dave AbbasAckley Paul RyanKey West
Roger DuelloBrandon           Don ScottRedfield
Kendal WarneAtlanticBrian FreundOsage
Paul SchellhaseGarrisonJohn DvorakAtlantic
Randy BrackenWest Des MoinesHenry HerwigCoralville
Kirk RiceIowa Falls















In 1990 the committee commissioned a bronze statue. Their challenge was to find a suitable home for such a touching memorial. After an extensive application process, research and site visits, the Iowa Firefighters Memorial Committee, in 1992, chose Coralville. The choice was due to its scenic hilltop location, ease of access for Interstate travelers, availability 365 days a year, a visitor’s center and park like atmosphere. It was also in close proximity to hotels and restaurants and had the commitment of Coralville/Iowa City leaders to create and perpetually care for the site. The memorial was dedicated on April 10, 1994.
In 2003 the Memorial Wall Expansion Project began and is close to completion today. There are now 1,687 names on the Memorial Walls. The funds to develop this memorial have come entirely from donations, grants or fundraisers. No tax dollars have been used for this memorial. The Iowa Fire Service and its friends have made this memorial a reality and we hope they will continue to support it with their donations.